Local Adventure: Albany Rural Cemetery

Local Adventure: Albany Rural Cemetery

There’s something about a cemetery that makes me feel alone and surrounded at the same time. Not in an I see dead people kind of way– it’s more like a place I can come to when I need to think, or relax, or just feel some peace and quiet. I’ve been doing this for years, sometimes alone and sometimes with a friend or two (that’s you, Kara!). The Albany Rural Cemetery is really close to my house, so I often pack up Emma and head there for an hour any chance I get. The cemetery itself is huge and gorgeous and old, and is home to President Chester Allen Arthur (fun fact– a Union graduate! Go Chet.).

This visit, I took the chance to take some photographs. I feel like most of my local adventures will be in photo-blog format– I’ve always had a passion for photography, but have never had the time or energy to learn about it and practice (at all… I’m a newbie). My ever-so-thoughtful boyfriend, however, just got me a “photography for beginners” tutorial box set for Christmas, so I’ll be armed with my Kodak a lot these days. I visited the cemetery in the days after the polar vortex, so everything is pretty and covered in snow. Unfortunately for me, everything was also covered in ice, and the proof is in the massive bruises all over my body. Worth it for the almost-amateur-level photographs I got, though. Totally.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

